Elections Compliance Audit Committee is a mandatory requirement of the Municipal Elections Act, 1996 (MEA).  Committee members will consider compliance audit applications with regard to candidate financial statements filed under Section 88 of the MEA for the 2018 election. The Committee term is December 3, 2018 until November 14, 2022. 

The purpose of the Election Compliance Audit Committee is to: 

  • Review compliance audit applications, if any, and decide whether they should be granted or rejected;
  • Appoint an auditor, if the application is granted;
  • Receive the auditor's report;
  • Consider the auditor's report and decide if legal proceedings should be commenced; and
  • Give directions accordingly and recover the costs of conducting the compliance audit from the applicant, if no apparent contraventions are found. 

Election Compliance Audit Committee Members: 

  • Kaela Howarth
  • Mark Morrison
  • Allan Meloche
  • Katherine Schauer (Alternate)