River Canard Bridge

The Ontario Heritage Trust, in partnership with the County of Essex, the Town of Amherstburg, and the Town of LaSalle, unveiled a provincial plaque on Friday, November 14, 2025, to commemorate the River Canard Bridge. Two duplicate plaques are permanently installed on both sides of the bridge.

 

Built in 1937 as part of the Ontario government’s Depression-era public works program, the construction of this bridge was funded jointly by the Province and Essex County and provided essential unemployment relief.

A significant crossing point on the River Canard since the 18th century, the bridge links the Amherstburg and LaSalle communities. The increase of motorized vehicle traffic necessitated stronger transportation infrastructure and this reinforced concrete bowstring or tied-arch bridge replaced previous wood and steel truss bridges that came before it.

The bridge is an example of early 20th-century concrete engineering in Ontario. The design combined structural efficiency and aesthetic appeal, and it quickly became the pride of the community. Measuring 36.3 metres long (119 feet) and 7.32 metres wide (24 feet), its defining features include a single-spanned parabolic arch with 11 vertical concrete hangers per side, concrete balustrade railings and a cantilever sidewalk.

This bridge and the neighbouring St. Joseph Roman Catholic Church are connected landmarks of the historical hamlet of River Canard, in one of the earliest French-Canadian settlements in Ontario. Framing the church, this bridge symbolizes innovation in civil engineering and celebrates local heritage and investment in community.

Contact Us

Town of LaSalle
5950 Malden Road
LaSalle, ON N9H 1S4
T. 519-969-7770
F. 519-969-4469
Map this Location